About

* September 2021 - in preparation *

The Spectrum Archive service is a cost-effective magnetic tape storage solution particularly suitable for cold data that needs to be stored on the order of ten years and more, such as in research, for example in genomics, medicine, astronomy, etc.

In order to guarantee their conservation, data are stored on a first site (UniDufour) then copied as additional security by another solution on a second site (Biotech).

You can rent such a data storage solution on a yearly basis for CHF xx/TB/year, in increments of 1 TB. Your space is automatically renewed each year unless you specify otherwise.

Warning: this service is intended to store only data whose rereading is rare and exceptional (maximum 1, or even 2 times per year) and whose relatively long access time is acceptable. It is not suitable for more frequent access in which case the UNIGE academic NAS remains the recommended solution.

Use:

A user-friendly web interface makes it possible to create a "buffer" disk space in which data to be stored are then deposited by the user using a Windows, macOS or Linux share. Data thus deposited are then copied onto magnetic tape.

The web interface allows users and groups to be associated with each space as well as, when rereading is required, to select the files concerned.

You are...
  • A UNIGE or HUG staff member.
You'll need...
  • An ISIs account.
  • Disposer d'une adresse e-mail ...@unige.ch
Terms & conditions

Support

Outages, bugs and other issues

Présentation du service

*** Août 2021 - en préparation ***

Le service Spectrum Archive est une solution économique d'archivage sur bande magnétique convenant particulièrement aux données froides devant être conservées de l'ordre de dix ans et plus, tel que cela peut être le cas dans la recherche, par exemple en génomique, médecine, astronomie, etc.

Afin de garantir leur conservation, les données sont stockées sur un premier site (UniDufour) puis copiées à titre de sécurité supplémentaire par une autre solution sur un second site (Biotech).

La location annuelle d'un tel espace est au prix de CHF xx.- / To / an, par multiples de 1 To. Sans indication contraire de votre part, elle est renouvelée de manière tacite chaque année.

Attention : ce service est destiné à n'archiver que des données dont la relecture est rare et exceptionnelle (maximum 1, voire 2 fois par an) et dont le temps d'accès relativement long est acceptable. Il ne convient pas à des accès plus fréquents auquel cas le NAS académique de l'UNIGE reste la solution recommandée.

Utilisation :

Une interface web conviviale permet de créer un espace disque "tampon" dans lequel les données à archiver sont ensuite déposées par l'utilisateur/trice à l'aide d'un partage Windows, macOS ou Linux. Les données ainsi déposées sont alors copiées sur bande magnétique.

L'interface web permet d'associer des utilisateurs/trices et des groupes à chaque espace ainsi que, lors d'un besoin de relecture, de sélectionner les fichiers concernés.

Public cible
  • Les collaborateurs/trices de l'UNIGE et des HUG.
Prérequis
  • Disposer d'un compte ISIs.
  • Disposer d'une adresse e-mail ...@unige.ch
Règles

Utiliser le service

Support

En cas de panne, anomalie, problème